Category Archives: New Albums

The Octopus Project Release “Sharpteeth” Video and Single Ahead of “Fever Forms” Album Release

Ahead of the July 9th release of their fifth studio album, Fever Forms, The Octopus Project have revealed the video for the single “Sharpteeth”. Filmed in their hometown of Austin, Texas at the Scottish Rite Theater, the video opens with feather/furry headed humans performing and observing the song until a theremin encounter in the mystery jungle brings in the human-headed element.

In addition to the video presentation, you can pick up the “Sharpteeth” single in a limited fluorescent pink vinyl 7″ format directly from Peek-A-Boo Records.

The Fever Forms album is also available for pre-order on the site in a variety of formats (digital, vinyl, CD) as well as in a “Super Deluxe” format that includes the singles, t-shirt, and most awesome, a 3D Viewmaster + 3D reel.

Note the pluralization of the word “single”. In addition to “Sharpteeth”, the track “Whitby” is also available as a single and below for your listening pleasure.

Video: The Wave Pictures – “Blue Harbour”

The Wave Pictures have a new album In Her Kitchen scheduled for release on August 22nd via Moshi Moshi Records. They’ll be performing a few dates leading up to the release.

08/17: New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge
08/18: Brooklyn, NY @ Public Assembly
08/19: Philadelphia, PA @ Northstar Bar
08/20: Montauk, NY @ Sole East Hotel

Kanye West Claims New Solo Album by Summer

Now, not to make any assumptions because he already claimed his Jay-Z collaboration Watch the Throne was due in a week in early January, but still. He did it in CAPS LOCK and everything.


In 1 week the video to next single “All of the Lights”

In two months (3/1) the Jay-Z collaboration Watch the Throne

And by summer, new solo album?

This could be the busiest release schedule of all time. OF ALL TIME.

Alina Simone Releases Demos Album

Alina Simone - Raw Demos (2002-2008)
In the long waiting period between her last English language album, 2007′s Placelessness, Alina Simone decided to release an album of demos and outtakes on Bandcamp today.

Titled Raw Demos (2002-2008), it includes material from her first band, Disfarmer as well as demo versions of songs that appear on each of her albums (including a few in Russian), and one from the forthcoming Make Your Own Danger due in June.

Tracklist Below:

1 Copter
2 Miner
3 Going to the Sea Again
4 Straight Edge
5 Chinese Takeout
6 Dreaming of a Blackout
7 Pretty Songs
8 Wish I Had a Motorcycle
9 Every Fresh Start You Make
10 Velvet Painting
11 I Liked Your Lies
12 Hannah
13 For a Rainy Day
14 I Can See Nothing
15 100 Year Rain
16 Just Here to Watch the Show

In other Alina Simone news, she has a book of essays due in June to coincide with her newest album release called You Must Go and Win. And a baby on the way. Plus she’s taking up capoeira and bread making. Most of that is true.

Spoon Releases Demos / Outtakes Album

Spoon Bonus Tracks 2008-2009

If you haven’t been checking on Spoon’s website over the past three years or so, you missed out on quite a few outtakes. Well, Spoon felt bad about that, but not that bad as they are now selling those tracks on a CD or digital download as Spoon Bonus Tracks 2008-2009 (Tracks Below). Recommended for those who wish “You Got Your Cherry Bomb” had more country flava. Plus, everything is 10% off for the holidays, including that Spoon-branded prayer candle for those difficult to shop for devout hipsters.

1. Was It You Demo
2. Rhythm and Soul Demo
3. Don’t Let It Get You Down Demo
4. Cherry Bomb Country Version Demo
5. My Little Japanese Cigarette Case Oceanside Demo
6. Merchants of Soul Demo
7. Eddie’s Ragga Writing Exercise
8. My Mathematical Mind Demo
9. You Gotta Feel It Rehearsal
10. In the Right Place The Right Time Demo